Board of Directors


  • Photo: Lawrence Pentz

    Larry Pentz - Chairman - BS ChE MBA*

    Larry Pentz was appointed to the Board in 2008 and became Chairman in 2014. Larry has over 30 years' service within multi-national corporations in a variety of operational and general management positions. He has extensive experience in developing strategy for and successfully leading international growth businesses. Larry has been instrumental in the acquisition and integration of multiple catalyst and chemical companies for Johnson Matthey Plc, and was formerly executive director responsible for Emission Control Technologies of Johnson Matthey Plc.

    Larry is an Executive director of Johnson Matthey Plc and holds board level responsibility for Johnson Matthey’s Process Technologies and Fine Chemicals Divisions.

Executive Directors

  • Photo: David Hummel

    David Hummel - Chief Executive - BSc

    David Hummel assumed responsibility for VICTREX PEEK worldwide in 1992 and has more than 25 years of experience of the global high performance polymer industry. Formerly with Diamond Shamrock, GE Plastics and ICI, David was appointed to the Board in 1993 following his leading of the successful MBO of Victrex from ICI. He has served as CEO of Victrex since that time, overseeing strategic decision making and day to day management and leadership of the business.

  • Photo: Louisa Burdett

    Louisa Burdett - Group Finance Director BSc Hons, ACA

    Louisa Burdett was appointed as Group Finance Director in February 2014. Louisa formerly held the position of Chief Financial Officer at Optos plc. Prior to this, Louisa was Chief Financial Officer at the Financial Times Group from 2008 to 2012. Louisa has also held roles at Chep Europe, a division of Brambles Ltd, the Australian listed pallet distribution company, GE Healthcare and GlaxoSmithKline plc. Louisa has also worked as an M&A Consultant at Charterhouse Bank and spent four years at KPMG in London.

    Louisa is Chairman of the Currency Committee.

  • Photo: Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper - Executive Director - BA Hons

    Tim Cooper was appointed to the Board in October 2012, and continues in the position of Managing Director of Victrex Polymer Solutions, a position Tim has held since joining Victrex in January 2010. Tim has over 30 years of international business management and commercial experience, having held senior leadership positions in a number of industries. Prior to joining the Victrex business, Tim was with Umeco Plc, initially as Managing Director of Aerovac Systems Ltd, but later becoming Group Managing Director of Umeco Composites Process Materials. He has been Managing Director of Tellermate Plc and of Avery Berkel Ltd, having developed his international career with GEC, BP and Land Rover.

Non-executive Directors

  • Photo: Pamela Kirby

    Pamela Kirby - Non-executive Director - BSc PhD*+#

    Pamela Kirby was appointed to the Board in 2011 and Senior Independent Director in 2014. Pamela has detailed knowledge of the international pharmaceutical industry, and was formerly CEO of Quintiles Transnational Corp based in North Carolina USA. Pamela has also held a number of other senior positions in the international pharmaceutical industry including AstraZeneca PLC where she was a regional director and F.Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd. where she was director of strategic marketing and business development. She was previously non-executive chairman of Oxford Immunotec Limited and non-executive director of Novo Nordisk A/S, and Smith & Nephew plc.

    Pamela is Chairman of Scynexis Inc and non-executive director of DCC plc, Hikma Pharmaceuticals plc and Reckitt Benckiser Group plc.

  • Photo: Andrew Dougal

    Andrew Dougal - Non-executive Director - B ACC, CA*+#

    Andrew Dougal was appointed to the Board in March 2015.  Andrew is a chartered accountant and brings a wealth of experience to the Board, from a lengthy executive and non-executive career of over 35 years in industrial, manufacturing and services companies.

    Andrew is a non-executive director and Chair of the Audit Committee at Carillion plc. and Creston plc. He is also a non-executive director at Premier Farnell plc. He was previously a Non Executive Director and Audit Committee Chair of both Taylor Woodrow Plc and Taylor Wimpey Plc, and a Non Executive Director of BPB Plc. Formerly, Andrew served as Chief Executive of Hanson plc., the international building materials group, following its demerger from Hanson, the Anglo- American conglomerate, where he was Finance Director and previously held a number of senior roles in general management and finance He is a member of the Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland (ICAS) and Chair of its Technical Policy Board.

  • Photo: Patrick De Smedt

    Patrick De Smedt - Non-executive Director - BSc MSc*+#

    Patrick De Smedt was appointed in 2008. His career includes over 20 years with Microsoft Corporation, culminating in his appointment to Chairman of Microsoft Europe, Middle East and Africa in 2003. Patrick has previously worked with early stage ventures as well as large, established multi-nationals. He has deep knowledge of international markets, technology and diverse industry sectors.

    Patrick is Senior Independent Director of Morgan Sindall Group plc and Anite plc, and a non-executive Director of Kodak Alaris Holdings Limited and Easynet GmbH.

  • Photo: Giles Kerr

    Giles Kerr - Non-executive Director - BA ACA*+#

    Giles Kerr was appointed in 2006. Giles is Chairman of the Audit Committee. Giles has a strong financial background and commercial experience within the pharmaceutical industry. He has formerly held the position of Finance Director at Amersham plc and was previously a partner at Arthur Anderson.

    Giles is the Finance Director of Oxford University and a non-executive Director of BTG plc and Senior plc.

General Counsel and Company Secretary

  • Photo: Suzana Koncarevic

    Suzana Koncarevic - General Counsel and Company Secretary - BBus LLB MBA

    Suzana Koncarevic was appointed to the position of General Counsel and Company Secretary in April 2012. Suzana has a corporate and commercial law background, having previously held the position of General Counsel and Company Secretary at Speedy Hire Plc. She has also held the position of Senior Legal Adviser at United Utilities Group PLC. Suzana's career also includes previous experience as a corporate lawyer at both Herbert Smith in London and DLA Phillips Fox in Sydney, Australia.

Nominations Committee
Audit Committee
Remuneration Committee